Just Unload the Silverware

I hate doing the dishes.

I realize the first sentence of my first blog post has done nothing to set me apart from the crowd here, but just hear me out.

I’m fortunate enough to own a dishwasher, but still. I HATE doing the dishes.

Every night when that sink full of disgust is staring me down and the dishwasher is still full of yesterday’s clean dishes, I tell myself, “Just unload the silverware.”

Just unload the silverware, then I can take a break, and do the rest later.

I’m a mom with a full-time job, and in case you couldn’t tell from the domain name I chose, I eat real food. Which means I have to cook it all. Basically, what I’m trying to say is I’m busy. And when I’m not busy, I’m tired.

But I want to tell my story. As it happens. My story is still being written. I don’t know how much longer it will be – I’m not trying to be morbid, just stating the fact that no one is promised tomorrow.

So here I am, buying a domain name, starting a blog, and writing my first post. Just unloading the silverware.

After I unload the silverware, it’s really easy to keep going. Unload the rest of the dishes. Then load the nasty ones, turn the thing on, put my kid to bed, and watch Netflix on the couch with my husband.

Do you have a story to share? A dream that often enters your thoughts, that you usually dismiss, saying to yourself, “If only I had more time…”? Or maybe just a really annoying chore you’ve been putting off?

Just unload the silverware. Maybe even unload just one FORK.

Just Unload the Silverware

Leave a Reply

