Instant Pot Filipino Chicken Adobo with Basil-Lime Cauliflower Rice

img_1960

Remember the previous post, when I rambled about how much I hate doing dishes?

That was just ADORABLE. Now my dishwasher is on the fritz, and I know actual hate. Heavy-sighing, cussing-every-soiled-fork, up-to-my-ears-in-Dawn hate. Literal wanting-to-cry-when-you-see-that-forgotten-greasy-pan-on-the-stove hate.

Needless to say, one-dish meals are preferable right now. That’s why I love the Instant Pot. If you clicked the link, then you see that it’s quite a splurge for most of us middle-class people. That’s why I got mine when it went on sale for $69 on Prime Day. 🙂 And it’s life-changing. It’s a pressure cooker, which is kind of like a slow cooker on six cups of coffee. You can make baked potatoes in it in 15 minutes. Need I say more?

When the real-food goddess queen of paleo herself, Diane Sanfilippo, kept going on and on via Snapchat about this Filipino Chicken Adobo dish by Paleo Foodie Kitchen a while back, I checked it out. Upon seeing it was made of ingredients I actually keep in my house and not free-range unicorn tears I’d need shipped from Mars, I wanted it in my life. (Admittedly, coconut aminos is probably odd to many of y’all, but I’ve been having it shipped to my home via Thrive Market for so long, it’s normal to me. I should blog about coconut aminos!) But I’d had my Instant Pot for a little while now, and have honestly gotten to a point of scoffing at any recipe telling me to “simmer” something for “25 minutes”. Nah.

I researched a few similar Instant Pot recipes, then made my conversion. I’m sharing my recipe here for you Instant Potters. (No relation to Harry.) If you don’t have an Instant Pot, go for the Paleo Foodie Kitchen recipe above! No problemo.

Instant Pot Filipino Chicken Adobo

Ingredients:

  • 3 pounds chicken drumsticks
  • 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 2/3 cup coconut aminos (you can use soy sauce, if soy and gluten are OK with you!)
  • 6 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 2 tbsp avocado oil

Instructions:

  • Combine vinegar, garlic, and aminos in a small bowl.
  • Add oil to Instant Pot and push the Sautee button. Add the chicken and brown for a few minutes skin-side down.
  • Remove chicken from the pot. Add the vinegar/aminos mixture and deglaze the pot.
  • Put the chicken back in. Put the lid on the Instant Pot, and cook on high pressure for 9 minutes.
  • Let the pressure release naturally, unless you’re hangry, then turn the knob to vent the steam. (Watch your fingers!)

Every delicious protein needs a side, and I ate this with basil-lime cauliflower rice. I used pre-chopped “cauliflower crumbles” from the grocery store, but you can chop up a cauliflower and rice it up in a food processor in a jiffy. I’d suggest doing that before you start the chicken. Then, tackle the cauli rice while the chicken’s in the Pot.

Basil-Lime Cauliflower Rice

Ingredients:

  • 1 small head of cauliflower, riced
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil (or other cooking fat)
  • juice of 1 lime
  • a few fresh basil leaves
  • salt + pepper

Instructions:

  • Turn a large frying pan on medium-high heat. Add the oil and wait for it to get shimmery.
  • While you wait, chiffonade your basil. Stack the leaves on top of one another, roll them up into a basil-joint-looking thing, then make tiny slices.
  • Add the riced cauli and cook for a few minutes. Stir it a lot!
  • When the cauliflower is tender and just starting to look a little toasty, remove from the heat
  • Add the lime juice and basil. Stir it up. Season with salt + pepper to taste.

img_1960

Leave a Reply

